New Year’s Resolutions: The Pride and Prejudice Bicentenary Challenge 2013

I’ve left this poor blog abandoned for a few months, but I have something quite random to share with you in these few hours left before the start of the new year, namely this:

Those of you who know me reasonably well, must also know what a Jane Austen aficionada I am. Because 2013 will be 200 years after ‘Pride and Prejudice’ by Austen was published, I am committing myself to reading/watching several books about the novel as well as several TV/film adaptations. This challenge is offered by Austenprose. I am not a huge fan of Austen spin-offs or fan-fiction, in fact: I’ve never managed to finish any. I have to be honest, though, I also never really tried liking Austen spin-offs and perhaps I’ve been reading the wrong ones… I’ve chosen some titles from a pre-posted list on Austenprose that seemed acceptable 😉 as well as added two that I chose myself. It is absolutely insane how many sequels of the novel have been written!! Here is the list:

1. Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen (1813)
2. Mr. Darcy’s Daughters, by Elizabeth Aston (2003)
3. Darcy’s Story, by Janet Alymer (1996)
4. Mr Darcy’s Diary, by Amanda Grange (2006)
5. Pride and Prejudice BBC/PBS miniseries (1980)
6. Presumption: An Entertainment: A Sequel to Pride and Prejudice, by Julia Barrett (1995)
7. Mrs. Darcy’s Dilemma, by Diana Birchall (2004)
8. Pride and Prejudice A&E/BBC miniseries (1995)
9. Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife, by Linda Berdoll (2004)
10. Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy: The Last Man in the World, by Abigail Reynolds (2010)
11. Pride & Prejudice Universal Studios film (2005)
12. Mr. Darcy Broke My Heart, by Beth Pattillo (2010)

So, I’ve explained my bias against spin-offs and fan-fiction, which makes this challenge especially interesting in my case. In case I’m not too horrified by what I’ve read, I’ll make sure to post reviews for each of the titles. If you absolutely hate Jane Austen, this would be a good time to ‘unfollow’ my blog 😉

Wish me good luck! Also, what are your new year’s resolutions?

xx
Paula

3 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions: The Pride and Prejudice Bicentenary Challenge 2013

  1. Dear lord that’s a challenge.

    Actually I quite liked last year, so no resolutions I think..
    Spend less money?

    Gelukkig Nieuwjaar 🙂

Leave a Reply

